The Internet Society Board Appoints New Members

The Internet Society board of trustees seated its new board and elected a new Chair, Robert Hinden, at a recent meeting in Berlin, Germany. Mr. Hinden is replacing outgoing Chair Eva Frölich, who was the first female chair of the organization.

Mr. Hinden is a Check Point Fellow at Check Point Software; a co-inventor of IPv6; a member of the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) administrative oversight committee (IAOC). He also co-chairs the IPv6 working group (6MAN) at the IETF. Previously at Nokia, he was a Nokia Fellow, chief internet technologist at Nokia Networks, and CTO at the Nokia IP Routing Group.

The Internet Society board of trustees are elected or appointed by the following groups: Chapters, Organization Members, and the IETF. The results of the 2013 elections are:

  • Chapters re-elected Narelle Clark to a three-year term;
  • Organization Members re-elected Jason Livingood and elected new Board member, Désirée Miloshevic, both to three-year terms; and
  • Robert Hinden was re-appointed as an IETF appointee to the Board.

The current members of the Internet Society board are:

  • Alain P. Aina, managing director at Technologies Reséaux & Solutions and Special Projects Manager at AFRINIC (the Internet Address Registry for Africa)
  • Eric Burger, research professor of Computer Science, and director, Security and Software Engineering Research Center, at Georgetown University
  • Narelle Clark, Deputy CEO, Australian Communications Consumer Action Network; president of the Internet Society Australian Chapter
  • Keith Davidson, International Director, InternetNZ
  • Raúl Echeberría, executive director & CEO of LACNIC (the Internet Address Registry for Latin America and the Caribbean)
  • David Farber, professor of Computer Science and Public Policy in the School of Computer Science at Carnegie Mellon University
  • Robert Hinden, Check Point Fellow at Check Point Software
  • Jason Livingood, vice president of Internet & Communications Engineering, Comcast
  • Désirée Miloshevic, senior advisor, Public Policy and International Affairs, Afilias
  • Lynn St. Amour, president and CEO of the Internet Society; serves as ex-officio and as a non-voting Trustee
  • Theresa Swinehart, executive director, Global Internet Policy, Verizon Communications
  • Rudi Vansnick, president of Internet Society Belgium
  • Bert Wijnen, research engineer at RIPE-NCC in the Netherlands

Scott Bradner as has been re-elected as secretary, Lynn St. Amour as president and Jason Livingood as treasurer of the Internet Society.

Just in

Vercel raises $250M

San Francisco-based Vercel, a frontend cloud platform provider, has secured $250 million in Series E funding, bringing the company's valuation to $3.25 billion.

Worky raises $6M (Mexico)

Mexico City-based Worky, a provider of HR and payroll software solutions for Mexican companies, has closed a $6 million Series A financing round.

Amazon announces $1.31B investment in France

Amazon has announced a new investment of about $1.31 billion (€1.2 billion) in France, which the company says will lead to the creation of over 3,000 permanent jobs in the country.

Amazon Web Services CEO Adam Selipsky to step down — CNBC

Adam Selipsky, CEO of Amazon’s cloud computing business, will step down from his role next month. Matt Garman, senior vice president of sales and marketing at Amazon Web Services, will succeed Mr. Selipsky after he exits the company June 3, writes Annie Palmer. 

Palo Alto Networks, Accenture expand alliance to offer generative AI services

Palo Alto Networks and Accenture have announced the expansion of their strategic alliance to provide new offerings that combine Palo Alto Networks' Precision AI technology with Accenture's secure generative AI services.