The Internet Society board of trustees elected Gonzalo Camarillo as the new Chair during its annual general meeting. It also seated new board members who will now serve a term of three years. The Internet Society board of trustees is elected or appointed by chapters, organization members, and the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF).

Gonzalo Camarillo is head of Data/IT standardization at Ericsson, where he works at the office of the CTO. He is an active participant at the IETF where he chairs several working groups. In the past, he served in both the IESG and the IAB. Mr. Gonzalo holds an MBA from AEE (Aalto University Executive Education; Finland), a PhD in Electrical Engineering from Aalto University (Finland), and two MSc degrees in Electrical Engineering from KTH (Royal Institute of Technology; Sweden) and UPM (Universidad Politecnica de Madrid; Spain). As part of his PhD studies, he was a visitor researcher at Columbia University.

The results of the 2016 Board elections are:

  • Desiree Miloshevic was re-elected to a three-year term. She is Senior Public Policy and International Affairs Adviser at Afilias, a global leader in domain name registry services and has served as Special Advisor to the chair of the UN Internet Governance Forum (IGF) Advisory group since 2006.
  • Harish Pillay was elected by organization members. He served as president of the Internet Society Singapore Chapter from 2013-2015 and is currently in charge of external engagements for the chapter. He works for Red Hat Asia Pacific where he is global head of Community Architecture and Leadership.
  • Olga Cavalli, who was elected by chapter members, is president of the Internet Society Argentina Chapter. In 2007, she co-founded the South School on Internet Governance which has granted more than 1500 fellowships for Internet Governance training in eight countries throughout the Americas.
  • Richard Barnes was selected by the Internet Architecture Board as the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) appointee to the board. He formerly served as area director for the Real-time Applications and Infrastructure area of the IETF and currently leads the Security and Privacy Engineering team at Mozilla.

The board also elected John Levine as the new Secretary. Mr. Levine replaces Scott Bradner, who is retiring.