Instagram, the photo-sharing service owned by Facebook, has launched Instagram Direct, a private photo and video messaging system. Instagram Direct lets you send a photo or video to a select group of people. You can send a post to up to 15 people with Instagram Direct.
Here are the things to know:
- Posts sent with Instagram Direct can’t be shared through Instagram to other sites like Facebook or Twitter.
- You can’t tag people or use hashtags in these shared posts.
- The posts will not appear in feed, search or your profile.
- You can send a photo or video to anyone when you use Instagram Direct.
- If you send a post to someone who doesn’t follow you, the post will go to their requests queue. If someone accepts your request, your post will go to their direct posts the next time you share directly with them.
- Posts that stay in the requests queue may become unavailable.
- If you don’t want someone to send a post to you, you can ignore their post in your direct posts by tapping x or you can block that person.
- When someone you follow sends a photo or video to you with Instagram Direct, it’ll go to your direct posts.
- When you delete a sent post, it’ll also be deleted from Instagram. The people you’ve sent it to won’t be able to see it.
- Everyone that you’ve sent a photo or video to can see its likes or comments, even if they don’t follow each other.
To send photos/videos with Instagram Direct:
- Take a new photo/video or upload a photo/video from your camera roll.
- Add optional effects, filters and a caption.
- Tap Direct. You’ll see some features appear in green when you’re using Instagram Direct.
- Tap the names of people you want to send the photo/video to (up to 15 people).
- Tap Send.
Instagram Direct is available for iOS and Android, while Instagram for Windows Phone is available in beta.
The Instagram community currently has over 150 million people, according to the company.
[Image courtesy: Instagram]